Tag Archive for "Databases" | Windsor Public Library

Online G1 & M1 Practice Tests now available through WPL

Posted in: August 27, 2018 by Windsor Public Library Library | 1 comment

We’re happy to announce the addition of G1.ca to our eResource lineup. G1.ca offers free G1 & M1 practice tests to library customers; these tests have been developed specifically based on the official ON Ministry of Transportation driver’s handbook. Practice tests are available with corrective feedback, and also in simulator mode – which is about as close to the written test as you can get. Whether you’re prepping for the...

Online Access to Consumer Reports

Posted in: December 11, 2015 by Windsor Public Library Library | Comments are closed

It’s the most wonderful time of the year…decorations are up, Christmas melodies are filling the airwaves, homemade cookies are materializing in lunchrooms, and there are beautiful light displays scattered throughout the city. Cocoa, candy canes, made-for-tv movies, gift-giving guides– yep, I pretty much love it all. If you haven’t figured it out, I am THAT person who gets super excited for almost all things Christmas. Almost? There’s only one thing...

Change to Electronic Collections

Posted in: January 7, 2015 by Windsor Public Library Library | Comments are closed

WPL has made some changes to our electronic collections for January 2015. We will be directing all customers to use Chilton Library.com for their automotive repair needs. Our subscription to AutoRepair Reference Centre has been cancelled, due to cost and duplication of information. In addition, we’re happy to announce that music lovers will find a new, enormous selection of songs and albums at Hoopla. Because of cost and selection, we are no...

Music & Audiobooks now Available on Hoopla

Posted in: September 12, 2014 by Windsor Public Library Library | 2 comments

Hoopla, Hoopla, HOOPLA! This word has been in my vocabulary for about a year now, and it’s just as much fun every time I say it. With our Hoopla-versary just around the corner, let’s look back and reflect on all of the reasons why we love this eResource so dearly. –Every title is available right away. No waiting. No holds. Ever. –It’s available anytime, anywhere. I have used Hoopla on...

Learning Express Library (LEL)

Posted in: August 19, 2014 by Windsor Public Library Library | Comments are closed

TOEIC; TOEFL; GED; GRE; SAT; OMG! LEL! TISA! Are you shaking your head right now and wondering what all of this means? It’s part of a game that we play here at the library: Standardized Test or Internet Slang. One person throws out an acronym, and the other has to guess which category it belongs to. Fun…right? Speaking of fun (and standardized tests), Learning Express Library (one of my favourite...

Music Free & Legal: Freegal

Posted in: April 10, 2014 by Windsor Public Library Library | Comments are closed

Illegally downloading music is never a good idea. In addition to being against the law, it’s unfair to the artists, producers, record labels, and music industry affiliates. On top of all this, it can really harm your computer. Try to imagine using BitTorrent, P2P, and other file sharing networks as taking candy from a stranger. You might be fine, but, there’s always that chance that the candy is tainted and will make...

World’s Largest Newsstand, Now Available!

Posted in: March 3, 2014 by Windsor Public Library Library | Comments are closed

Customers of Windsor Public Library have now unlimited multi-user access to a selection of complete digital magazines, easily viewed on most internet-enabled devices, through Zinio for Libraries, the world’s largest newsstand! Zinio for Libraries enables you to: • enjoy complete digital editions of your favourite magazines – some of which are only available in this format; • download full-colour magazines with interactive elements such as audio and video; • find the stories...

WPL Continues to Expand its Database Collection

Posted in: January 10, 2014 by Windsor Public Library Library | Comments are closed

Windsor Public Library is pleased to announce it is now offering another online eResource to WPL customers: PressDisplay. WPL joins 13 other Ontario public libraries currently offering this service. PressDisplay is the online version of the resource that produces WPL’s printed NewspaperDirect Print-On-Demand newspapers, which are offered in-branch at Central Library (850 Ouellette Avenue). PressDisplay provides instant online access to today’s newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format....

Available beginning today at WPL: access to thousands of legal forms!

Posted in: November 6, 2013 by Windsor Public Library Library | Comments are closed

LawDepot now available at Windsor Public Library

Windsor Public Library is pleased today to launch a new database for community use: LawDepot! Receive unlimited access to thousands of Canadian legal forms across all categories, including Wills and Powers of Attorney, Rental and Lease, Corporate documents, Landlord and Tenant, Goods & Service related forms, Loans, Debts, IOUs, Marriage and Divorce, Living Arrangements, Partnership and Joint Venture, Human Resources and a variety of other documents such as confidentiality agreements,...

Learn Languages Online with Mango

Posted in: November 6, 2013 by Windsor Public Library Library | Comments are closed

Mango is an online language-learning system available free to WPL customers with library cards in good standing. Mango uses real-life situations and actual conversations to more effectively teach a new language. By listening to and repeating after material designed from native conversations, you’ll not only learn the individual words and phrases, you’ll know how they’re used in practical situations and conversations. You’ll learn more than grammar, vocabulary and conjugation, you’ll...