To celebrate 125 years of library service to the community, WPL is featuring photographs from the local history collection and community archive. On a daily basis for the balance of December, we will present an interesting and unique image of our city, which we hope will fascinate and entertain.
The former John Richardson Library is named in honour of Major John Richardson (1796-1847), the local author of the early 19th century novel Wacousta. Richardson served in the War of 1812 and lived in the Sandwich West area. The building was designed by prominent Windsor architect David John Cameron, in association with William Ralston. The style follows the Georgian Revival (Neo-classical) and there are many beautiful details including four hand-carved stone tablets inset in the front facade and incised with the names of great authors (Scott, Dickens, Milton and Hugo). This branch opened in 1929 and served the west end until 1972, when it was consolidated with another library for the opening of the Ambassador branch. The John Richardson library building is now part of the Adie Knox Herman Recreation Complex on Wyandotte St. W.