To celebrate 125 years of library service to the community, WPL is featuring photographs from the local history collection and community archive. On a daily basis for the balance of December, we will present an interesting and unique image of our city, which we hope will fascinate and entertain.
The South Branch opened in October, 1929 in Hugh Beaton School, to meet demand from the east end. It was the second such branch in the province, and the fore-runner to four more school branches in Windsor. In 1959, the South [Walkerville] Branch opened nearby in a converted storefront on Tecumseh Rd. In this image of the circulation desk, taken shortly after the branch opened, the interior of the original branch is pictured. Later, the branch size doubled as the adjacent storefront was rented. South Walkerville branch closed in 2015 in preparation for the opening of the W.F. Chisholm branch.